Buying or leasing a new motor vehicle is a big expenditure for ordinary Texans. Sometimes, those vehicles are defective, and they don’t always perform as they should. That’s when Texas lemon laws can be triggered. These laws give consumers remedies as alternatives to continual trips to the shop in attempts to have those defects repaired.
What’s a Lemon?
Lemon laws in Texas cover a wide variety of vehicles. Consumers can get their money back, obtain replacement vehicles, and get reimbursed for incidental expenses on cars, trucks, vans, motorcycles, ATVs, RVs, and even towable RVs when they’re still under warranty. A lemon is a vehicle that you’ve taken into the shop two times for the same repair issue in the first 12 months or 12,000 miles, or a vehicle that has been out of service for at least 30 days in the first 24,000 miles. A loaner vehicle provided by the dealer doesn’t count toward those 30 days. The condition of the vehicle must either create a serious safety hazard or substantially impair the vehicle’s value.
Time Limits for a Serious Safety Hazard
Take notice that if the vehicle does constitute a serious safety hazard, only two repair attempts need be made. The first attempt must occur in the first 12 months or 12,000 miles. The second attempt must occur within 12 months or 12,000 miles of the first attempt, whichever comes first.
The time limits for a consumer under the Texas lemon law are strict. Following proper procedures can be confusing. A free consultation and case evaluation with an experienced and effective Texas lemon law lawyer will operate in your best interests. Given the strict time constraints, make sure that you arrange for them sooner rather than later.
At Lemon Law America, we’re knowledgeable and experienced at handling these cases. Use our easy contact form online or call 1-866-436-1657 to schedule a consultation and evaluation.